Expertise "In the middle of Difficulty lies Opportunity" Albert Einstein

Eng. Darko Vasilev

Power Systems and der High-Voltage Engineer
Bachelor and Master of Science Electrical Engineering (University)

Eng. Darko Vasilev is the founder and owner of the engineering firm VD Hochspannungstechnik in Ulm. He is known in many countries as an academic and project specialist with hands-on approach in the fields of High-voltage engineering and Power system. For more than a decade he has worked in various countries and, thanks to his high technical affinity, he was appointed to a leading engineering position at a very young age. He has actively participated in more than 25 mega projects with a total order volume of more than one billion euros.

In his youth, Eng. Vasilev was diagnosed as exceptionally gifted. As a result, he received a university scholarship. During his bachelor’s studies in the field of power systems, he conducted scientific research at the University of Glasgow. Soon after his bachelor’s thesis defence, he enrolled for a master’s degree program, specialising in high performance drives, power transformers and large rotating machinery. He graduated with distinction.

His next stay abroad took him to the United Arab Emirates, after which he was drawn to the Emirate of Qatar for many years. There he worked for one of the largest Danish Engineering Consultants, which is one of the top 20 consulting companies in the world – first as a planning engineer in the field of power T&D and power plants, soon as lead engineer; for he could not hide his special talent, his very profound knowledge and his passion for technology for long. In 2013, for example, he had an outstanding idea for the customer “Qatar Aluminium / Norsk Hydro ASA”, which saved the company 7.5 million dollars a year and earned Vasilev the company’s “Cost Improvement Award”.

Eng. Vasilev soon returned to Europe and took up a similar position in Germany with a technology conglomerate where he was responsible for projects in Pakistan, Portugal, Spain and Australia. Meanwhile, he was planning to invest the prize money in his own engineering firm and to let customers benefit from his knowledge and vast experience.

 

Key qualifications

  • 800kV 550kV 420kV 245kV 145kV 72.5kV SF6 Gas Insulated Switchgears (GIS)
  • 800kV 550kV 420kV 245kV 12 kV Air Insulated Switchgears
  • 550kV 420kV 245kV 145kV 123 kV Overhead Transmission Lines
  • 420kV 245kV 145kV 72.5kV 36kV 24kV 12 kV Transmission and Distribution Cable systems
  • 36kV 24kV 12kV Metal Enclosed Air and SF6 Gas Insulated Switchgears
  • Large Electrical Rotating Machinery and Variable Speed Drives
  • Substation Control Systems and Protection Systems
  • Power Transformers/Autotransformers and Reactors
  • Earthing and Lightning protection
  • Small Power and Lighting
  • Switching Certificate till 110kV und 155kV
  • Switching Certificate till 380kV

 

Winner: „Cost Improvement Award”

(Qatalum Ltd.-Norsk Hydro ASA)

Expertise "Inmitten von Schwierigkeiten liegen die Möglichkeiten" (Albert Einstein)

Ing. Darko Vasilev

Ingenieur für elektrische Energieübertragung, Verteilung und Erzeugung
Bachelor und Master of Science Electrical Engineering (Universität)

Ingenieur Darko Vasilev ist Gründer und Inhaber des Ingenieurbüros VD Hochspannungstechnik in Ulm und als Spezialist im Bereich der Stromübertragung und Energieversorgung inzwischen in vielen Ländern bekannt. Ein ganzes Jahrzehnt hat er in verschiedenen Ländern gearbeitet und ist dank seiner hohen technischen Affinität sehr jung in leitender Funktion eingesetzt worden. Er hat an über 25 Großprojekten mit einem Gesamt-Auftragsvolumen von mehr als einer Milliarde Euro aktiv mitgewirkt.

In seiner Jugend wurde bei Vasilev eine außergewöhnliche Hochbegabung diagnostiziert. Daraufhin erhielt er ein Universitäts-Stipendium. Während seines Bachelor-Studiums im Bereich der Energieversorgung forschte er wissenschaftlich an der Universität von Glasgow. Nach dem Bachelor im Spezialgebiet Stromnetzversorgung schrieb er sich mit Spezialisierung auf Hochleistungsantriebe und drehende Maschinen für den Master ein. Auch dieses Studium schloss er mit Auszeichnung ab.

Sein nächster Auslandsaufenthalt führte ihn in die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, anschließend zog es ihn für viele Jahre ins Emirat Katar. Dort war er für eine dänische Ingenieur-Beraterfirma tätig, die zu den Top 20 der Beraterfirmen weltweit gehört – zunächst als Planungsingenieur im Bereich der Stromnetzübertragung und Kraftwerke, bald als Leitender Ingenieur; denn seine besondere Begabung, sein sehr tiefgreifendes Wissen und seine Leidenschaft für Technik konnte er nicht lange verbergen. 2013 zum Beispiel hatte er eine herausragende Idee für den Kunden „Qatar Aluminium / Norsk Hydro ASA“, durch die das Unternehmen jährlich 7,5 Millionen Dollar einspart und Vasilev den „Cost Improvement Award“ der Firma einbrachte.

Bald ging Vasilev wieder zurück nach Europa und übernahm in Deutschland in vergleichbarer Position bei einem Technologiekonzern an, wo er wiederum für Projekte in Pakistan, Spanien und Australien verantwortlich war. Währenddessen reifte in ihm der Plan, das noch nicht angerührte Preisgeld in ein eigenes Ingenieurbüro zu investieren und eigene Kunden von seinem Wissen profitieren zu lassen.

 

Schlüsselkompetenzen

  • 800kV 550kV 420kV 245kV 145kV 72.5kV SF6 gasisolierte Hochspannungsschaltanlagen (GIS)
  • 800kV 550kV 420kV 245kV 123kV luftisolierte Hochspannungsschaltanlagen (AIS)
  • 550kV 420KV 245kV 145kV 123kV Übertragungsfreileitungssysteme
  • 420kV 245kV 145kV 72.5kV  36kV 24kV 12kV Übertragungskabel und Verteilungskabelsysteme
  • 36kV 24kV 12kV luft- und gasisolierte metallgekapselte Mittelspannungsschaltanlagen
  • Großgeneratoren und Hochleistungsantriebe
  • Stationsleittechniksysteme und Sekundärtechnik
  • Leistungs-/Spartransformatoren und Drosselspulen
  • Erdungs- und Blitzschutzanlagen
  • Stromversorgung und Beleuchtung
  • Schaltberechtigung bis 110kV und 155kV
  • Schaltberechtigung bis 380kV

 

Gewinner: „Cost Improvement Award”

(Qatalum Ltd.-Norsk Hydro ASA)